Interview (2015) – Jacqueline Warrington

Standard

Jacqueline Warrington runs a well-established business designing and making her own range of jewellery and silverware. Thirty years of working and experimenting in precious metals has resulted in each piece being unique.

“I employ traditional techniques and work with silver, gold, precious and semi-precious stones,” says Jacqueline. “The magical properties of the materials I work with are themselves an inspiration. I also run classes from my fully-equipped workshop.”

During East Yorkshire Open Studios, Jacqueline will be sharing studio space in Beverley with her daughter Constance Haddenham, who also works with jewellery and precious metals, and artist Maggie Moore.

Visit Jacqueline’s entry on the Open Studios website for further details and visitor information, or click here to visit Jacqueline’s website.

Jacqueline Warrington

Were you born and bred in East Yorkshire?
I came to East Yorkshire aged 5 and went to Kilham and Driffield School.

Did you always have an interest in arts and crafts (i.e. from childhood)?
Yes, I was one of those children who made stuff all the time.

What were your early influences, and what was your route to becoming an artist?
I worked for Pamela Dickinson, a renowned jewellery designer, at the age of 16. I then went on to do City and Guilds and trade certificates, then went to Sheffield Art School to do silversmithing and metalwork. I set up in business in 1984, aged 23.

Warrington, Jacqueline 1

What challenges have you faced along the way?
I have faced many challenges! I have never stopped working, including when I had four small children. The world of jewellery design has changed over 30 years and I have had to keep up with new trends, ways of working and different techniques.

What tool or piece of equipment could you not manage without?
I have a box of tools that I bought from a retired teapot maker in Sheffield 30 years ago, some of which were his grandfather’s, and I use them all every day!

Describe your creative process and the environment in which you work. What part of the process do you enjoy the most?
I love being in my workshop – it is the most creative environment you can imagine. Working with precious metals and stones is a magical process and no day is the same.

How do you generate and experiment with new ideas? Do you use a sketchbook?
Yes, I use a sketchbook sometimes, but most of the time I work with the materials – they themselves are inspirational.

Which artists and designers (historical and/or contemporary) do you admire?
Georg Jensen, Hiroshi Suzuki, Andrew Lamb, Rod Kelly, all the arts and crafts silversmiths and jewellers, and Pamela Dickinson of course. I love ancient jewellery too.

Do you have any favourite blogs, magazines, books etc that you refer to for inspiration?
I always read the CRAFTS MAGAZINE and I have lots of books about ancient jewellery which are a constant inspiration.

Warrington-Jacqueline-5

Do you have a favourite piece amongst your own work?
My favourite piece is usually whatever I am working on!

What are you working on at the moment?
I am working on a set of two bowls which I am chasing with a repeat pattern at the moment, and a very tiny gold necklace.

What would be your dream project/commission?
Most of my commissions are exciting to work on. I am lucky in that I enjoy most things that I am commissioned to do.

Which galleries do you show in, and do you have any exhibitions coming up?
I show in mostly local galleries of late: the Pyramid Gallery, Leeds City Art Gallery, Saltbox Gallery in Helmsley, the Ropewalk, and a few galleries in London too. I am exhibiting at the Staithes Festival, Ripley Castle Christmas Fair, and the Christmas exhibition at the Mike Gell Gallery.

With thanks to Jacqueline Warrington (www.jacquelinewarrington.co.uk)

Leave a comment